Company News: Page (1) of 1 - 06/03/14 Email this story to a friend. email article Print this page (Article printing at page facebook

Subaru Rally Team USA's David Higgins Wins 2014 Susquehannock Trail Performance Rally

  (June 03, 2014)

CHERRY HILL, N.J., June 3, 2014 /PRNewswire/ --Subaru driver and defending Rally America Champion David Higgins earned his third win of the 2014 season with a dominating victory at the Susquehannock Trail Performance Rally (STPR). Higgins and co-driver Craig Drew led from the start of the event and went fastest on all 12 of the events special-stages in their Subaru WRX STI rally car. The win extends Higgins lead in the driver standings and puts him one step closer to a fourth consecutive Rally America Driver's Championship.

David Higgins and Craig Drew of Subaru Rally Team USA won STPR, the fourth round of the Rally America Championship.

STPR, round four of the Rally America National Championship, is known for its high-speed serpentine dirt roads that plunge through the forests of North Central Pennsylvania. The high-speeds coupled with the narrow tree-lined nature of the roads make STPR one of the series' most challenging events and one in which equal parts bravery and skill are asked of the drivers. The pressure on Higgins at this years' STPR was lessened by the absence of several of his key rivals, including his Subaru teammate Travis Pastrana who had a schedule commitment with his Nitro Circus Live tour in Australia.

"It may not of been the biggest battle we have had but these roads are so demanding and very difficult to read since they are always going in and out of shadows from the trees. So it's always a challenge here no matter who you are trying to beat on the timesheets," explained Higgins at the podium celebration. "Our Subaru was perfect all weekend and team did the business as always, a perfect event. I'm really looking forward now to the next event at the Mt. Washington Hillclimb where (Travis) Pastrana and I will likely do battle for a new overall record there."

All rounds of the 2014 Rally America Championship will air on the NBC Sports Network, with STPR airing on June 28, 2014 at 8:00PM ET.

Subaru Rally Team USA heads next to the X Games in Austin, Texas where their Global Rallycross Championship (GRC) team drivers Bucky Lasek and Sverre Isachsen will compete Friday and Saturday June 6-7. Travis Pastrana will join the squad in Austin for his only GRC race of the year before concentrating on the Rally America Championship with David Higgins, where the next round is the famed Mt. Washington Hillclimb June 27-29

About Subaru Rally Team USA
Subaru Rally Team USA is managed by Vermont SportsCar and proudly supported by Subaru of America, Inc., Subaru Tecnica International (STI), Method Race Wheels, Royal Purple, RECARO, PIAA and Race Proven. Follow the team on twitter: @srtusa, Instagram: @srtusa and online at

About Subaru of America, Inc.
Subaru of America, Inc. is a wholly owned subsidiary of Fuji Heavy Industries Ltd. of Japan. Headquartered in Cherry Hill, N.J., the company markets and distributes Subaru Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive vehicles, parts and accessories through a network of more than 600 dealers across the United States. All Subaru products are manufactured in zero-landfill production plants and Subaru of Indiana Automotive Inc. is the only U.S. automobile production plant to be designated a backyard wildlife habitat by the National Wildlife Federation. For additional information visit

Additional information and news from Subaru is available at

Motorsports Manager
Subaru of America, Inc.
(856) 488-3453

National Manager, Product Communications
Subaru of America, Inc.
(856) 488-8615

David Higgins and Craig Drew of Subaru Rally Team USA won STPR, the fourth round of the Rally America Championship.

David Higgins and Craig Drew of Subaru Rally Team USA won STPR, the fourth round of the Rally America Championship.

Photo -

Photo -

Photo -

SOURCE Subaru of America, Inc.

Copyright 2014 PR Newswire. All Rights Reserved

Page: 1

Related Keywords:USA, Inc., Sports, Business, Sports, Championship,


Our Privacy Policy --- @ Copyright, 2015 Digital Media Online, All Rights Reserved