Company News: Page (1) of 1 - 01/31/14 Email this story to a friend. email article Print this page (Article printing at page facebook

NFL Super Bowl XLVIII Features Six CFPA Trophy Winners

  (January 31, 2014)
NFL Super Bowl XLVIII Features Six CFPA Trophy Winners

East Rutherford, New Jersey (PRWEB) January 31, 2014

NFL Super Bowl XLVIII features six CFPA Trophy Winners. Four members of the AFC Champion Denver Broncos have earned CFPA honors -- Danny Trevathan, Montee Ball, Von Miller, and Nate Irving, while two members of the NFC Champion Seattle Seahawks have earned CFPA honors -- Earl Thomas and Golden Tate. CFPA FCS Linebacker Award winner L.J. Fort is scheduled to join the Denver Broncos this spring. Kickoff for NFL Super Bowl XLVIII is set for 6:25 p.m. on Sunday, February 2, 2014 in East Rutherford, New Jersey.

2011 CFPA Linebacker Trophy:

Denver Broncos linebacker Danny Trevathan finished the 2013 NFL regular season as the team's leader in total tackles (129), interceptions (3), and forced fumbles (3). The team's second-leading tackler finished the regular season with 84 total tackles.

Two years earlier, Trevathan earned the 2011 CFPA Linebacker Trophy, an award recognizing the top linebacker performance in the Football Bowl Subdivision based upon scientific criteria. Trevathan finished the 2011 season with 143 total tackles, five forced fumbles, and four interceptions.

Trevathan was presented the award at halftime of a home men's basketball game at the University of Kentucky on February 18, 2012. Trevathan hoisted the 2011 CFPA Linebacker Trophy at center court of Rupp Arena to a standing ovation from 24,239 fans, including Pittsburgh Steelers Head Coach Mike Tomlin.

"College Football Performance Awards gives hope to people under the radar who perform well," said Danny Trevathan. "The trophy presentation was probably one of the highlights of my life."

2013 CFPA Elite Defensive Back Trophy:

Washington State safety Deone Bucannon was recently announced as the winner of the 2013 CFPA Elite Defensive Back Trophy. Bucannon's 15 career interceptions were the most in Division I FBS college football.

"I'm kind of shaking just thinking about it," said Deone Bucannon. "Honestly, I'm just so thankful to even have an opportunity to win such a prestigious award."

2013 CFPA FCS Elite Running Back Award:

South Dakota State running back Zach Zenner earned the 2013 CFPA FCS Elite Running Back Award. Zenner rushed for 4,059 yards over the past two seasons, becoming the second FCS player in history to rush for 2,000 yards in two different seasons.

"In order for a running back to earn recognition, a lot of other people have to have good games," said Zach Zenner. "Our focus at South Dakota State is to give every play our all."

2013 CFPA Quarterback Trophy:

Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota earned the 2013 CFPA Quarterback Trophy. Mariota finished the 2013 season with 40 total touchdowns (31 passing, 9 rushing), averaging 9.5 yards per pass attempt and 7.4 yards per rush.

"It's great to see the Oregon tradition continue with my teammates," said 2011 CFPA Kickoff Returner Trophy winner De'Anthony Thomas. "I just want to thank College Football Performance Awards."

About College Football Performance Awards:

All CFPA winners are selected based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. Twenty-one CFPA winners have been first-round NFL Draft selections.

Read the full story at

Page: 1

Related Keywords:

Content-type: text/html

@ Copyright, 2014 Digital Media Online, All Rights Reserved