Company News: Page (1) of 1 - 02/20/14 Email this story to a friend. email article Print this page (Article printing at page facebook

Jace Amaro Presented 2013 CFPA Tight End Trophy

  (February 20, 2014)
Jace Amaro Presented 2013 CFPA Tight End Trophy

Dallas, TX (PRWEB) February 20, 2014

College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) presented Texas Tech tight end Jace Amaro with the 2013 CFPA Tight End Trophy on February 17, 2014. CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith was on hand to present Amaro the award in Dallas, Texas.

Amaro finished the 2013 season with 106 receptions for 1,352 receiving yards and seven touchdowns. Amaro produced the strongest tight end performance in CFPA history, including a single-season NCAA record for receiving yards by a tight end.

"It's a great honor to win such a prestigious award," said Amaro. "It means the world to me to be named the best tight end in the country. I'm proud to be a representative of this trophy."

2008 CFPA Kickoff Specialist Trophy:

Former Dallas Cowboys specialist David Buehler, formerly of USC, recently reflected on earning the 2008 CFPA Kickoff Specialist Trophy, being the first CFPA winner, and the growth of the CFPA Awards program.

"I just want to thank College Football Performance Awards for having me be the first recipient of this prestigious trophy. From its establishment in 2008, the organization has really grown," said Buehler. "The thing I like about the CFPA Awards is that it takes subjectivity out of the equation. It's a strictly performance-based award, so the most deserving player will be the winner."

Other CFPA-winning specialists include: Bryan Anger (California), Randy Bullock (Texas A&M), Alex Henery (Nebraska), Dustin Hopkins (Florida State), Sam Martin (Appalachian State), Shawn Powell (Florida State), Caleb Sturgis (Florida), and Blair Walsh (Georgia).

2013 CFPA FCS All-Purpose Performer of the Year:

McNeese State's Diontae Spencer earned the 2013 CFPA FCS All-Purpose Performer of the Year Award. Spencer finished the 2013 season with 1,895 all-purpose yards. In Week 11, Spencer contributed 365 all-purpose yards, two receiving touchdowns, two kickoff return touchdowns, and one punt return touchdown. As a result, Spencer earned four national CFPA honors in one week -- the most in CFPA history.

"This is a great honor for me," said Spencer. "Of course, none of this would be possible without my great coaches and teammates. To be recognized nationally for this award is just tremendous."

Pittsburgh Steelers running back Miguel Maysonet, formerly of Stony Brook, earned the 2012 CFPA FCS All-Purpose Performer of the Year Award. LSU's Odell Beckham Jr. earned the 2013 CFPA All-Purpose Performer of the Year Trophy for the Football Bowl Subdivision, while St. Louis Rams wide receiver Tavon Austin, formerly of West Virginia, earned the award in 2012.

MEAC Players Presented CFPA FCS Awards:

Two MEAC players were recently presented CFPA FCS Awards at home men's basketball games. Norfolk State's Lynden Trail was presented the 2013 CFPA FCS National Defensive Performer of the Year Award, while North Carolina Central University's Adrian Wilkins was presented the 2013 CFPA FCS Elite Kickoff Returner Award.

"It was an amazing event for us," said North Carolina Central University Director of Athletics Dr. Ingrid Wicker-McCree. "Adrian is a very talented young man, and we look forward to many great things to come from him and our coaching staff."

About College Football Performance Awards:

The goal of College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. Twenty-one CFPA winners have been first-round NFL Draft selections.

Read the full story at

Page: 1

Related Keywords:

Content-type: text/html

@ Copyright, 2014 Digital Media Online, All Rights Reserved